Newbie here: what to do with my pregnant guppies?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pytroc

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone!

I am new to this forum as a member, and I am also pretty new to keeping aquariums, so I could use some advice!

Little intro:
A couple of months ago my boyfriend and I decided we wanted to get shrimps, so we bought 14. In the first 2/3 weeks almost every shrimp died off, and after a few weeks we had only 2 left. In hindsight I realise this was probably due to high nitrite (NO2) levels in the aquarium, as I didn't let it ripe for 2/3 weeks. As the aquarium got quite empty, we decided to try again, but this time with guppies. We changed the water more often, kept a better eye on the temperature, added more plants and everything was going pretty good! Even the shrimps came back to a number of 8 adult shrimps now and many shrimplets in the tank!

We got ourselves 3 female guppies and 2 males (I know the perfect ratio is 1 male-3 females), but tried anyway. The ladies got knocked up in 1 or 2 days and were slowly growing bigger and bigger. When they reached the 21 days, we noticed that the males were really bothering the females a lot and we felt quite bad for them, so we transfered the 3 ladies in a breeding net, but as most people experience: they felt a little stressed, so that wouldn't help them with the pregnancy either. We decided we had to split the males and females up, and moved my Giant African snails from their waterless aquarium back to their old ugly plastic box, and we turned the aquarium into a second home for the females.