Newbie, how am I doing? (Love these forums!)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

logman17

Aquarium Advice Regular
Good day all-
I am a saltwater NEWBIE, an AA forums NEWBIE(love it), and a marine fish lover!

I have recently purchased a 47.5 gallon Juwel tank and stand and set it up as a saltwater system. I would like to see if anyone has any advise on what to add, change, etc based on the following equipment:

1-47.5ga Juwel aquarium with internal corner filter, biological, with flow rate of approx. 160 GPH

1-Eheim Cannister filter #2217, with BIOMECH and ESUBSTRAIT, flow rate approx 250 GPH

1-Prizm Deluxe protein skimmer

1-200w Heater

22lbs- Live Fiji Rock (40# Keys coming from lr.com very soon)

Digital therm and Digital pH monitor

Crushed coral, 40lbs. for substrait

2-30W flourescents, 1-daylight, and 1 blue actinic

7-black mollies for cycling

1-red legged hermit for cleaning up a little.

It has been operating for 1 week now, my measurements are as follows:

pH-8.0 (adding buffer each day)
Salinity- 1.0235
Ammonia- 1.0 mg/l
Nirates- 30 mg/l
Nitrites- 3.0 mg/l
Calcium- 460 mg/l
Temperature- 79.6F

Am I on the right path, or is there anything else I need to be doing to increase the chances of having a ultra-successful FOWLR system? All equipment is operating fine, I just want to give my future inhabitants the best possible chance to survive and thrive.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Cheers,

Logan (logman17)

From what I've heard (from others more experienced than myself, I might add), you will want to trade in your Prizim for a different skimmer - I use a CPR, and Aqua C Remoras come highly recommended. I must warn you, I see a lot of complaints about the Prizms.

For substrate, you may want to go with sand instead.

Can't argue with your choice of live rock :]

And before I forget, welcome to AA!

Thanks Corty!