opinions - regular cherry shrimp or fire red?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KrystaWB

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

I need some opinions... I am getting ready to add some cherry shrimp to one of my tanks - it has been up and running for a while and all is good. I am fairly new to shrimp but I have managed to keep a couple of Amanos alive for 3+ weeks now :dance:

I just want to add some shrimp because I think they are cool... I am not going to be breeding to sell but might end up having to sell off any extras if I get too many in the long run.

I am getting my shrimp from a local home breeder (who is well regarded in the local aquarium community here from what I can see). I am looking at both regular RCS and fire red and as far as I can tell the only difference is the quality of the colour - there is no difference in the hardiness between the varieties. is that correct?

the main thing that is concerning me is price - I am a bit worried about spending $4 per fire red vs $1.30 for regular RCS when I haven't had them before. So my question is do I go with regular old cherry shrimp or do I upgrade and get fire red? or a mix of both? I know mixing grades will probably lead to a colour quality somewhere in the middle eventually.

Thoughts? Opinions?

Hahaha, I always have thoughts and opinions.

A brief of them would be try the less expensive ones first.

It is always rewarding breeding and having a thriving shrimp colony. If at the point you have been successful and learned the routine and care of the little guys, decide which ones you would like to try next.

During the year you might have the Cherry Shrimp, your ideas may change anyway to a new variant and you might be faced with changing colonies anyway, for the new group.