Otocinclus and Corydora?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jessicafennen

Aquarium Advice Regular
I've been doing my research for a few months now on bottom feeders and algae eaters. So for the past 6 weeks I've had a 20 gallon tank with 4 platies running with great readings all the way around. There has been a fair amount of algae growth, and some food remains have made it to the bottom. The majority of corydoras are three or more inches, and I'm hoping to stick to a smaller fish. Plus, I'd have to get like five of them. With Otos being so sensitive and having a high death rate after the first month, I'm nervous about investing in them too.

Any advice or recommendations?

Pygmy Corys are super small, but not all LFS carry them. If yours does, or you don't mind ordering them through the mail, then they might be what you're looking for. FWIW, I have a school of 7 Panda Corys in a 20 Long... plenty of room as they are also a little smaller than a lot of the other species.

As far as the algae goes, one or two Nerite snails might be something to consider (depending on what kind of algae you have).

Other "clean up crew" options could include a Bristlenose Pleco or maybe some shrimp.
You'd need a hunk of driftwood for the Pleco and ideally some plants or a mossy area for the shrimp. Not sure what you have in your tank already. Both like hiding spots.

Keep in mind that you'll still need to provide specific food for all of these. Its not good to only let them have leftovers and tank algae.

Oh yes I have shrimp pellets for cories and algae wafers and romaine lettuce for otos. My 20 gallon has 4 platy, and some fry separated in a breeding box.

Oh yes I have shrimp pellets for cories and algae wafers and romaine lettuce for otos. My 20 gallon has 4 platy, and some fry separated in a breeding box.