Plant salt tolerance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hartgirl

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I am relatively new to having a planted tank (used "good" looking fake plants for years!)
Well, I've got some really good growth on my water sprite, anacharis, and my crypts (those are growing like crazy!)...can I still use salt in the aquarium for occasional treatment of my fish in case ich or some other parasite were to take hold? I know obviously keeping a clean tank and good water are key first and foremost- I just want to know how salt would affect those specific plants if I ever needed it! Thanks!! :)

Most aquarium plants can tolerate a very small amount of aquarium salt but honestly I don't suggest using it. Fish can be treated with heat quit successfully without harming most plants but if too much salt is used you plants will suffer.

So I am relatively new to having a planted tank (used "good" looking fake plants for years!)
Well, I've got some really good growth on my water sprite, anacharis, and my crypts (those are growing like crazy!)...can I still use salt in the aquarium for occasional treatment of my fish in case ich or some other parasite were to take hold? I know obviously keeping a clean tank and good water are key first and foremost- I just want to know how salt would affect those specific plants if I ever needed it! Thanks!! :)

Hello hart...

I've used a teaspoon to 1 and a half teaspoons in every 5 gallons of new water in my planted tanks for some years with no problems with fish or plants. Salt is important to my livebearers and I wouldn't be without it. Other fish may be a different story. Like you say, if you follow the rules for good tank management and that includes large, frequent water changes, then the tank inhabitants with be healthy and the chances of healthy fish getting an infection is very remote.

B