Plants from Petsmart

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CatatonicBug

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I just made my second purchase of aquarium plants from Petsmart. I have two different stores within equal distance from my house, so this time I went to a different store than I did last time. The first store has a tank with plants of various types under lights, weighted down with lead weights, but they really have no roots on them, as they seem to be just recent cuttings.

At the second store, the plants are all in little, sealed tubes with gel to keep them moist, but they are not in water. However, these plants actually have roots on them! I am really new to the planted tank scene, and I am wondering if one is better than the other, or does it really matter to the plants' ability to become quickly established in my tank. Does anyone have an opinion either way?

Be wary buying plants from petsmart. They are notorious for selling plants that are marginal - live just part of their life underwater. Thus when they are fully submerged for long periods, they begin to rot and die. Take note of the names of the plants you purchased (or are going to purchase) and research them, or list them here.

My petsmart only ever had amazon swords and java fern as 'real' aquatic plants - the rest were marginal.

You're much more likely to find true aquatics in the submersed setup at PetSmart than those plastic tubes. I'd say about 75% are true aquatics in the submersed setup, vs only 10% or less in the plastic tubes. Definately research your plants before buying to 1. make sure that they are true aquatics, and 2. ensure that they are appropriate for you aquarium. As long as the plant is a stem plant, there's no problem with them not having roots. Stem plants will grow new roots in very short order.

Stem plants will grow new roots in very short order.