pond without pump and filter okay for awhile?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

robotcholi

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey guys,
I'm thinking of purchasing a big piece of pondliner from BIGAL and dig up a hole or maybe build a brick wall up from the ground and lay that pondliner over and use that as a pond for now until i get some more $ for the pump and filter. Do you guys think it's okay to do that for awhile? The pond maybe around 1000 gal. Is the natural biological filter within the pond sufficient? Please assume I am a total newbie because I am one :D Thanks guys for the help.

Oh yeah btw, did you of you purchase pondliner from BIGAL? They said extra shipping charge will apply but I don't know how much that is.

oh yeah one more question thx :D

How would i go about bringing out electricity to power the pump? Pondmom had talk about a GFI but i don't know how those work. I've seach google for some kind of diagram as to illustrate how the wire should run and stuff to no avail. How did you bring electricity to your pond? Please be specific as I've no clue on how to do this safely. Or maybe the power cord will be really long for pump that i don't know so i can just bring it inside the house and plug it in? TIA for your kind help.

You do not want to have a pond of stagnent water. At the very least put an aerator in there to get some surface agitation and to move the water a bit.

As far as power, find an electrician. What we did at my place is ran some plastic conduit from our power box out to the pond, we just trenched it down a couple of inches with a sod cutter, nothing major. GFI is mandatory, which any electrician would be sure to do. You will be glad you did move an outlet out near your pond as you start to get multiple things that need to be plugged in.