Pursuade me!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Yeah I agree meegosh.

I was offered all the best spec stuff in various shops. And I aimed for the middle. My soil and lights was what I spent out for and even the lights I got on a budget. I googled ada soil first and it had good reviews so bit the bullet and I stand by it lol.

I was told to get stuff like £300 for one years pressurised co2 and external filters with sumps etc I couldnt afford and since found out through experience I dont need. Also the rocks and wood cost a fortune in shops so I sourced my own. I checked and it saved me about £80.

Well I'm thinking I probably just want a tank with a few cheaper plants. I don't wanna go all out especially cause this is my first time. I just heard having plant helps with nitrates, helps make the fish happier and above all helps make the fish healthier.

My lights. I run 4 ATI 24 watt bulbs. 2 blues. 1 aquablue special, and 1 purple plus. Idk what they'd do for freshwater but I can grow any type of corral under them.

I Don't really want to go all out if I can do a much simpler and cheaper tank with a few plants that will still make my fish happier and healthier.

sedgy90 said:
I have got to be honest thats gone over my head lol. BB? I rarely need to clean my filter as the water so far has been great. I check it when I change water but it never needs it.

Its really daft but that vid convinced me to aquascape. I never thought it was possible for a novice but I did it and am 100% glad I did. U learn so much so quick.