Red slime algae??????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lardy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi I'm new to salt water, I bought a second hand tank all set up and looking good for last 3 years, iv had it up and running at mine for nearly 2 months now and have a lot of this red slime algae appearing. Does anyone know how to get rid of it without harming corals and fish?????

image-1489184996.jpg

Have 2 power heads both ends of tank facing towards surface opposite sides.

image-80206084.jpg

image-943794869.jpg

There's pics. I syphoned some out but came back straight away

It's going to be a long battle my friend. This is usually an excess of nutrients and or low flow. Maybe grab another powerhead pointed down to where the largest patch of cyano is, and vacuum as much as you can with water changes. You may be battling this for months but as long as you don't overfeed you will be on the right track;)

For a temporary fix you could use a additive like Chem Clean. The cyano will disappear but will return if the real cause is not corrected. Check your water for phosphates too.

Thanks all !!!! Is this chem clean ok for fish and coral? Ill try siphoning everyday into a net and re use water. When clean tank looks great but this stuff looks horrid. Ill keep you all posted on how I get on

Try to avoid using chemical agents. They are not good for saltwater tanks. The best bet is good tank hygiene, water flow and watching out for hidden nutrient sources.

I'm battling old tank syndrome in my tank right now. My sand bed has become saturated with nitrates that I just can't get rid of. I'm moving to a new house this weekend, so when the tank move the sand bed in the display tank is going away completely, and an over 50% water change. There will still be a sand bed in my sump, but I can easily change that our in the future if this happens again.