related to ph, but more complicated (sorry this is long)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sumarty2

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hi,

this is my first post...I am pretty new to things bad happening to aquariums..even tho I have had my 75 gal tank now for about 13 years.
at present it is occupied by about 7 silver tetras or are they called black tetras?? in addition the water sprite is growing like crazy with a couple of amazon sword plants doing pretty well. I had 10 fish until a couple of weeks ago when I lost a few in the span of about 2 weeks. then I checked the pH and it was 6!! (to my surprise). the water out of my faucet is about 7.2. Ammonia and nitrate were neg. I started doing partial water changes daily (previously I had done them every other week and a full filter change about every 1 1/2 months...(this being the original marine land canister filter). with these daily water changes I sucked out from the gravel all the debris...in fact I was thinking by day 5 the gravel never looked cleaner. but my pH was still 6. the second day I removed my driftwood which was no longer needed by a pleco that was shipped off to greener pastures when he out grew my tank (after being with me for 15 years!)anyway on day 3 I changed my filter which was about 1 month from the last time I cleaned it. the weird thing about that was there was no "gunk" stuck in the carbon cartridge mesh thing which usually is full of "gunk". I began to think my filter was not doing what it is supposed to do. so I added a "HOT" magnum which hangs on tank...had that in a previous life. On day 5 of water changes I tested the ammonia and it was creeping up. that got me thinking that oops I messed up the biological filter by sucking all the bacteria out of the gravel.