Salt or fresh water help me decide.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

patron253

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Ok so I have been taken care of my sons 12 gallon fish tank, he has cichlids fish in there, anyways I enjoy it and ive decided to put a fish tank in my man cave, Im looking to get a 55 gallon-70 gallon corner aquarium.

Im not sure if I should go fresh or salt water, im still new to fish tanks and im dont know what kind of species of fish there are for fresh and salt water. This is what im wanting for my fish tank.

I like "rare fish" Anything I do I like to go big, so I want rare fish weather I have to buy them online or find them local I would like for them to be rare, I also Would like to have a nice size shark in my fish tank ( so i assume I have to go salt?) I have seen small shark for fresh water so im not sure if there is bigger.

I also dont like to feed fish with fish food (flakes) I would like to keep it all natural and feed my fish with feeder fish. I also want nice sized fish I dont like a bunch of small fish. I would like 12"+ fish. I also am into more of the aggressive fish Like the cichlids fish are pretty dope. Im just wondering if there is fish like that, that get bigger and more pretty for salt water. I also like fish that swim in schools, like if you have 4 of them they will stay together.

Is there a list of fish species for both home fresh and salt water I can read up on the different fish that would help me alot to decide what i want.

Thanks for any information and help. This is going to be a fun hobby and im looking forward to it, and i want it to be perfect lol.

To keep 12"+ fish in sw you will need a much much larger tank. Think 2-300 gallons for the smallest shark species. Liveaquaria has a huge inventory of fish and recommended tank sizes, I'd start researching there