Seachem Prime

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tauquenmay

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just bought Prime and made a quick 50% water change to my 10 gal using the product. Before this, the ammonia read 4 and I got scared (total newbie, when I got the fish all they told me was that I needed to give it one day for the filter to "clean" the bacteria in the aquarium), so after the water change, I used the API ammonia testing kit to look at the level again and it read 0, a total yellow color. But when I came home today after a trip and started to test it again it read 1! (obviously, my tank isn't cycled yet so I'm trying my best to go through it safely with Prime), can anybody tell me what's happening? Is Prime only used to temporary loosen the ammonia level? Thank you.

Tauquenmay - Welcome to AA!

You are replying to a 2 year old thread - it may be better for you to start your own thread to get more specific replies. We need a bit more info to give you a better answer - tank size, when set up, what fish & when you added it, your pwc schedule, & other tank parameters (eg pH, NO2).

With what you posted, I would think your tank is going through its cycle. What test are you using? Nessler or Salicylate. If you are using the Nessler, I would expect that after a 50% pwc, the ammonia will only go from 4 to 2, not zero. <You will get a zero if you are using the salicylate test.>

Prime will not last forever. Seachem says it will last only 24 hrs. So if you are relying on Prime to tie you over the ammonia spike, you need to dose daily (or every other day.) If you have a salicylate test, you can use that to time your dosing, but it is far safer to actually do enough water changes so that the total ammonia is always low (less than 0.5).

Prime