Shrimp tank!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gboy66

Aquarium Advice Addict
Want to make a shrimp tank out of our cycled 10 g!! It has no fish in it and the water parameters are fine!!! So all and any info would be awesome!!!

I don't know much about shrimp so I won't comment on that but if the tank is empty and truly cycled you'll want to feed it an ammonia source (pure ammonia) every day to keep the bacteria alive.

librarygirl said:
I don't know much about shrimp so I won't comment on that but if the tank is empty and truly cycled you'll want to feed it an ammonia source (pure ammonia) every day to keep the bacteria alive.

Oh really?? I didnt know that!

10 gallons is huge for shrimp! Lol they'd love it there. I've had plenty of experience with shrimp. In a ten gallon, you may find you'd like other fish, or perhaps a centerpiece fish with them. Let me know if you have any questions!

Well I'd first cycle the tank. It needs to be fully cycled or else the shrimp will die, like fish. Then find out which shrimp that you like. You could do a few types of shrimp in there but watch out because certain shrimp will interbreed with one another and create, well IMO ugly shrimplets. Also add plants! They love plants and feed on the microorganisms that live on them. My shrimp love java moss so I'd highly recommend that and xmass moss as well. any more questions? I'd be happy to help:D

haha I'm setting up a 10 gallon shrimp tank too! also fully cycled. what shrimp were you planning on?? so far i only have two ghost shrimp in mine. :) i have had experience with fw and sw shrimp though so if this is your first time i wouldn't recommend any expensive shrimps till you are experienced. also put lots of plants in it!

MABJ said: