Snails??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ian086

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi, i was thinking of adding a few snails into my 55g community tank. I was looking at the Mystery Snail. I don't have any real plants, just a few fake ones and a bit of decor. My substrate is sand. I just want peoples opinions good or bad and what are the general rules on care/feeding/stock levels. Do they just hide away the whole time. I just thought they might make a nice addition to the tank but i don't want them if they take a lot of care or can potentially cause problems..I don't have any issues with water quality or algae...All opinions/advice welcome....Thanks..Ian

I am no expert and don't currently have any snails myself. But I am thinking of getting one. I posted a thread a while ago. My condition was I didn't want them to completely take over the tank. I was told that if you don't want an infestation of snails to go with Nerite snails because they can't reproduce in freshwater. Hope that little tidbit helps!

Hi, i was thinking of adding a few snails into my 55g community tank. I was looking at the Mystery Snail. I don't have any real plants, just a few fake ones and a bit of decor. My substrate is sand. I just want peoples opinions good or bad and what are the general rules on care/feeding/stock levels. Do they just hide away the whole time. I just thought they might make a nice addition to the tank but i don't want them if they take a lot of care or can potentially cause problems..I don't have any issues with water quality or algae...All opinions/advice welcome....Thanks..Ian