Starting a new tank...need the best advice for cichlids.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WizardHowl

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey Guys,
I'm starting a new tank, and I have the money to get pretty good equipment. Since I'm relatively new to tanks, I'm thinking 75-90 gallons. I basically want to make a community tank with a variety of fish, and also in the future be able to support cichlids, especially discus'. What can I do from the beginning to get it right so that I will be able to eventually support discus' once I have the perfect water condition. Since I read that they sometimes like plants to swim around, would I need a decent light fixture to support some nice green plants, or will the fluorescents be sufficient?

discus can live happily in a non-planted tank too.
as to perfect water conditions, as long as they are stable and the NH3/NO2 are absent, the PH doesn't matter that much (though you'd want more opinions on that).
so all you need right now are good filters - a combo of a canister and a HOB or two canisters would be fine. also i'd go for a good oversized heater, as discus tanks are maintained at higher temps.
HTH
I'd rater not talk about planted tanks as i'm a complete failure in that field ;)

You don't just "get" perfect water conditions...unless you mean after the tank is cycled. I would do a fishless cycle to begin with though. Read about it HERE.

You'll need to do some reading about Discus to see what tankmates go well with them. I wouldn't put any extremely active or nippy fish in with them, as Discus are rather passive. Also, they like higher temperatures, and not all fish do.

I'd go to the LFS and pick up a few books on Discus, before you get them.