Starting a planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dumbo the Fish

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey guys! I’m completely new to planted tanks. I’ve been wanting to start one for a while and I might end up going to a new PetSmart near me. It’s amazing to its fish! (Except for the bettas of course but their water is actually clean) I was wondering if you guys would recommend some low light, low maintenance plants that will be fine with gravel. I think Java moss would be good for me. I’ll definitely pick some up from PetSmart if it’s in stock. What should I look for in plants? Thanks!

Most plants from petsmart are fairly non-demanding.

Anubias
Java fern
Java moss
Cryptocoryne
Swords
Wisteria
Money wort
Rotala
Ludwigia
Dwarf red tiger lotus

That should give you a start.

Thank you! Would they need supplements or stuff like that? I’m brand new lol. Also can they thrive in gravel?

Below is a pic of one of my tanks in plain gravel running most of the plants I had mentioned. Note that java fern, java moss and anubais are not to be planted into the gravel. Rather, wedge them into rocks / wood or super glue / tie them to rocks / wood.

This tank uses a small daily dose of:

KNO3
KH2PO4
CSM+B
MgSO4
Metricide 14

DIY root tabs places every few months.

Qd1E4SQ.jpg

DTZoYbA.jpg

Would the plants that I’m getting for about a 5 gallon or 2.5 gallon need the supplements daily? I’ll be on vacation for a bit soon. What do you mean by DIY root tabs? Sorry for all the stupid questions

Would the plants that I’m getting for about a 5 gallon or 2.5 gallon need the supplements daily? I’ll be on vacation for a bit soon. What do you mean by DIY root tabs? Sorry for all the stupid questions

3 x weekly works too.

For a 5.5 gallons I would recommend:

Crypt parva
Crpyt lutue
Bacopa spp. 'compact'
Jave fern
Christmas moss
Dwarf chain sword
Helanthium