Starting My 45G Fowlr

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Robfowlr

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So I am pretty new to the hobby and just looking for some advice/best practice.

I have a 45G tank with:
80lbs of live sand
10lbs base rock
40lbs good cured live rock
Aquaclear 70 Powerfilter W/2 sponges and 1 carbon pack in the basket
Fluval 200w Heater
(2) maxijet 600's (circulator config)
Full top with 24" 50/50 lighting

My tank Cycled very quickly I had the Rock and sand in for about 3 days then added 2 clownfish. The Ammo and Nitite levels were at zero after the first 8 days. The nitrate level have fluxuated between 5ppm and 15ppm.

I had my LFS test my water and they said that it looked good. I was worried because most of what I have read said that the cycle would take 6-8 weeks. I have received mixed advice about buying a skimmer some say its not needed with my size tank,but would be useful, others say its a waste. I am going to wait a few weeks and if my levels are stable go with out if they move ill get either a bak pak or an Aqua C ramora.

I waited 2 weeks with the clowns in the tank with 5 blue leg hermits 4 white snails and 4 turbos and the levels were good. I added a 2" blue tang and a 3 1/2" pink spotted goby/with pistol shrimp buddy. All levels are good I have done 2 10g water changes and have gone easy on the food. I am using mysis shrimp, pellets, and seaweed strips all soaked in garlic solution. Everyone is eating well and not leaving to much mess.

Compared to what I have read about starting a FOWLR this seems very rushed I know but I havnt had any harsh spikes in levels, aggression, or much negative progress so far. My next move is to wait 2 more weeks and add a flame angel. I am thinking that may be all the fish I will add to the tank just to keep the bioload reasonable and everyone happy. Mayabe a cleaner shrimp too!