Suffering from Fungus...HELP!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

huffdaddy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,

I have been fighting what I think is a fungus problem for several months. I have a 10 gal tank, 3 guppies, water parameters (pH, chlorine, nitrates, nitrites) are always in good shape. I'm getting something brown, which I suspect from reading other posts is brown algae which is growing on the substrate, tank decorations, and sides of the tank. I'm also getting something white and fluffy which grows on the substrate in some areas as well as up in the filter. I'm vacuuming and doing PWC about every two weeks, and about a month ago I broke the tank down and cleaned the whole she-bang top to bottom while the fish were taking a vacation in a temp tank for a few hours.

I tried a fungus removal treatment a few months ago, but it seemed to have a bad effect on the fish I had at the time (3 neons and 2 guppies) and all of the fish except one guppy died. I did dose it properly, so I don't think it was because of too much med.

I'm at my wits end to figure out how to control this. I know that perhaps a little fungus might be expected, but this plus the white fluffy stuff is getting a bit out of control no matter how much I vacuum and clean the tank ornaments and sides. Would really appreciate any advice you guys have on how to get this under control.

Thanks,

Alan

You are probably over-feeding. The teardown may have done more harm than good as it probably got rid of all the bacteria that break stuff down. Vac twice a week and cut back the food a little. Will you post your water parameters?