Tang aggresion question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brenden

Aquarium Advice Addict
I added a sailfin to my main today and the purple tang started pestering him. Just constantly pushing against him. I caught the purple tang and put him in my fuge. How long should I leave him there before I return him to the main? I have never had a problem before so I am new to this.

Purples are known for their major aggressive tendencies. I would wait until you have completely finished adding fish, or at least tang-like species. If you are finished, then I would give him at least a couple weeks or more in solitary. Is it also substantially larger than the other tangs? If so, you may always have problems.

The sailfin is larger than the purple. The purple gets along great with the convict and regal tangs. He is not a happy camper in the fuge. At least he has plenty to eat. :)

The convict and regal do not have the same body type....he doesnt see them as being important :)

I was aware of them only going after same body type. I figured since the purple was young and the sailfin was larger it would be minimal. I asked a question about this a couple months ago and the responses I got thought it would be fine also. They were only in the main together for less than 5 minutes. I may give him another chance soon and give them more time together to see what happens. I have rigged a neat fish trap. If it still causes a problem. It only took me about 10 seconds to catch him. :)

I added a sailfin to my main today and the purple tang started pestering him. Just constantly pushing against him.

I had the same issue with a Purple Tang. Many people at the LFS told me that we could put him in there and it wouldn't be a problem, but he attacked my tangs, 1 in particular, pecking at his fins until he was so stressed out that he had red spots all over him.