tiny snails

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gunnergetcha

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hey guys,
i seem to be getting heaps of tiny snails in my community tank. i am new at this and am wanting to know is there any concerns about them?

i have a 130ltr tank (33gallons?) and have a great community of tropicals i am putting together but concerned about these little snails that my guess are parasites?

can anyone shed some light on this for me?

p.s. im proud to anounce the addition of 2 blue koi swordtails and 4 male guppies to the family :)

Peter

They come from fish stores and spread fast.

You can see the babies as a clear sack on the side of your tank,

As to how to get ride of them

there is product for sale like no snail but I don't think its good for plants?

I used a puffer he made short work of them but he may hurt some of your other fish.

Either way hang around and someone with more experience will help you out

yeah lfs sounds like the culprit (which is to be expected) and the puffer sounds interesting as does the "no snail?".

my problem is that i have a "mystery/mysterious" snail i think its name is that is part of my fish family and i love him/her and dont wont to hurt him. my wife has heard of a snail called the assassin snail that feeds on them, but i dont want it to hurt a single member of the community. they are all dearly loved :)

we are in the process of slowly establishing our tank as we have only had it for 2 months. its already an obcession :)

i think its time i take photos and show them off. i might have to include photos of my 2 boys so the wife doesnt think i've got favorites ;-)

You can put a lettuce leaf in, remove the mystery snail and dispose of the rest that come to feed on it.