Too many water changes?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mudzie

Aquarium Advice Freak
Anyone ever hear 15% water change every week might not be that good for your tank? Well thats what ive been doing for quite some time, im going to ask the lfs guy to clarify his reasoning maybe its because my nitrates are usually 0.anybody thoughts??

I've been doing 20% every week for over 20 yrs. IMO there is no such thing as too many water changes or doing them too often.

Thats kinda what i thought,im just gonna ask what he meant.thanks
Last water change i did, i found myself actually heating the water in my buckets with a heat gun,both my heaters in dt and sump was thinking maybe alternating buckets with a heating pad or something???wife thinks ive lost my mind

Mudzie said:
Thats kinda what i thought,im just gonna ask what he meant.thanks
Last water change i did, i found myself actually heating the water in my buckets with a heat gun,both my heaters in dt and sump was thinking maybe alternating buckets with a heating pad or something???wife thinks ive lost my mind

Lol. Using a heat gun, huh? I guess that'll work but why not drop ur powerheaf in, fill ur sink up with Scolding hot water and let it sit for about 10 min. I check the temp every 2-3 min. Heats my water to temp in no time. And it's a **** load safer/easier then using a heat gun. I wud b nervous about heating the plastic too much.

Thats a good idea,i have a big plastic spoin i kept stirin but took bout 15 min per 5gal.thanks ill try the sink trick. Im an early riser so im usually doin water changes about 5:30am then my wife never knows what things looked like lol.