Trouble cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kitekat87

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi

I’ve been keeping fish for over 20 years so I’m not a beginner, however I’ve never experienced the trouble I’m having with my latest aquarium.

I set up a 125 litre aquarium in April. My first mistake was trusting the shop employee when she sold me some bacteria in a bottle and said stock your tank straight away with it.

So it’s been over 6 months and as far as I can tell the tank has never cycled. There is still ammonia readings constantly, there’s never been a nitrite spike and the nitrates have the faintest tint of orange. If I hadn’t compared it to tap water I would say it was zero for nitrates but there is defo a slightly different shade.

I’ve even tried moving over some media from my other tank but that doesn’t appear to have worked either. Admittedly I could only move over a small amount because that is a small tank.

All the fish are fine because the ph is neutral however I’m worried that there will one day be a nitrite spike and kill them all.

The details of the tank are below and any advice would be gratefully received.

Filtration is a Fluval U3 and Eheim Experience 150

Fish are all juveniles:
3 angelfish
1 Severum
3 black skirt tetras (mature)
1 red tail black shark

I do have the back of the tank covered with live plants

I’m fed up of the constant testing and worrying about the water. I do have a small 28 litre aquarium that I could maybe move the fluval filter to and do a fishless cycle with before moving it back?

Thanks

What is the ammonia reading ?
This all seems strange being 6 months old and with plants...

That’s what I thought, none of it makes sense!

With my current test kit (nutrafin) it reads between 1.2 and 2.4. If it gets any higher than that I do a water change

Hi