Turtles for a 38 gallon tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishstuff45

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi. I have a 38 gallon aquarium. It has a quite flow 55 filter and a heater that keeps the tempature at about 78 degrees. I was wondering what kind of turtle i could get. Id like to still have fish which would probablly be pictus catfish and angels. Are there any turtles that i could get and if so what kinds?
Thanks

i would get a red slider they are quite good but im no expert

I have a red eared slider in a 55 gallon with Cichlids and they all get along great! however my turtle will eat any fish she can catch including catfish gold fish and others in the past. Also you would eventually you would have to upgrade bc they can get to be as big as a dinner plate! I have to upgrade soon just make sure if you do get a turtle it has a nice area to bask

Before you jump into buying a turtle, look up their setups, regarding lighting requirements, diet, care and setup, as your current setup probably would be in appropriate to house turtles. Everyone seems to be jumping on turtle bandwagons at the moment, and I would heed you all to stop. Even the setup in the previous pictures although it looks nice and may be working for the owner, would be by most keepers, be deemed completely inappropriate. They are a lifetime pet most living over 50+ years and may require high priced vets bills if you want to keep them that long. Please do some thorough research before considering this.

Turtle tanks should have open tops, to allow free movement of air and not allow any condensation to build up. They need to be kept at specific temperatures, water land and air humidity all at different levels depending on the species of turtle. Equipment such as lights can be costly and should be replaced every 6months to a year.