upside down rubbernose pleco

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

allie

Aquarium Advice Newbie
first let me say I am brand new to keeping an aquarium.. and I know now that I did everything wrong... help.. Iamb trying to do things right now.

My Eclipse 5 (basic setup) tank is 10 days old. I have 2 albino mollies, 3 neons (9 days) and 1 rubber nose pleco (he's been with me 3 days) with some live plants in a 5 gallon tank. Two days ago I noticed white spots.. ICK! I started treatment today. Now my pleco is tucking himself under an aquarium decoration and laying still on the bottom of the tank. Is this normal? He did not do this before today. Three days ago (before the pleco) I change 10% of the water and vaccumed the gravel (which I have way too much of 2")

I checked my water conditions and the nitrate2/amonia levels are up to 2.0 so I took him out and put him in the water I have prepared for the next cleaning (all levels in the ideal range) with an airater. (I'll be able to get to the store tomorrow to get something to help with the amonia.. I was hoping the plants and nitrite rock would help. [nitrite (0); hardness (120); alkalinity (180); pH (7.6)]

Is my ignorance making me parenoid and I should put him back in the tank? or what should I do?