***urgent*** guppies fins disintegrating

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lauraac

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So my female guppies fins have seemed to disintegrate overnight. I left last night around 10pm and came home today at 4 and my female guppies fins are white and like falling off. I have no idea what could have caused this or what this is. I’m new with fish so any advice is greatly appreciated. I’ll attach an image below. I did a water change as soon as I saw this... she’s also hanging out at the top of the tank but showing some activity but won’t eat anything.

Tank parameters:

Cycled tank, 10 gal, 2 small guppies, temp is 74c, ammonia 0, pH 7, hardness 8, nitrite 0 nitrate 0

Thank you very much, I hope I can save her.

Attachments

• 558E7449-C2B4-4FB4-BD53-BE2FFF120DF7.jpg
    558E7449-C2B4-4FB4-BD53-BE2FFF120DF7.jpg
    193.1 KB · Views: 49
  • 6A247A5B-8AF5-4083-B89E-0ED14C899D87.jpg
    6A247A5B-8AF5-4083-B89E-0ED14C899D87.jpg
    202.6 KB · Views: 47
You should be seeing some nitrates between 5-20 usually. It sounds like your tank isn't cycled or your test wasn't accurate. Usually fin rot takes more time to take off a fin like that and you would have noticed it sooner.
Is it just the one guppy that has her fins off? Are both your guppies female? The other guppy might be bullying her and nipping her fins off. Does she have places to hide?

You should be seeing some nitrates between 5-20 usually. It sounds like your tank isn't cycled or your test wasn't accurate. Usually fin rot takes more time to take off a fin like that and you would have noticed it sooner.
Is it just the one guppy that has her fins off? Are both your guppies female? The other guppy might be bullying her and nipping her fins off. Does she have places to hide?