Water Changes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ximat

Aquarium Advice Freak
As I said in a previous post Im pretty new to SW keeping. My next question is regarding water changes. I have a 75 gallon tank that is now 6 weeks old. I've done one water change, but at that time I only had damsels in there. Now that I have no damsels and 1 goby and 1 firefish I want to know what a proper method of water change is.

How do you prepare your water and such? What routine do you do?

I've been told I should do 10gallons of water per change, so I was thinking of preping two 5 gal buckets a day in advance, and putting a powerhead in the bucket to stir up the water to make sure my SG is proper. Is this a good technique? Also I was thinking of doing water changes on the 1st and 15th of the month. those are paydays so i can get new filters :)

Input?

Water changes should be done on a regular basis. Try 1ogal every two to three weeks. I just fill up a rubbermaid tub with the SW I mixed. Put in a heater, a powerhead and an airstone. I just let it set for 24-48hrs (or until I get around to doing a water change). That is about it. Just make sure you are doing occasional top-offs with FW to make up for evaporation. Are you using tap water or RO/DI water?

Tap water. RO/DI is out of my league right now. I have topped off a couple times with FW to keep the salinity right.

What purpose does the airstone serve in your tub? I understand the powerhead for circulation.

Do not use Tapwater to do a water change. Tap water has ammonia and your tank still be high with ammonia now. If you can't get a ro water buy yourself with r/o filter machine.(you'll need them if you want to keep your tank) And do your water change every 2weeks about 10gal is fine. I need to know what you have in your tank?? lr? ls? any coral??