Water Movement ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wally

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello, I have been using a Natural Wave Timer in my system for about 8 months and have 3 power heads connected to it.

Recently one of the outlets stopped putting out power (what a bummer) I've been looking at replacing it with the Red Sea WaveMaster Pro.

Does any one have any experience with it? What do the "night time " and "feeding" modes mean?

I've heard good things about it.

The feeding mode shuts off power to the powerheads for about 5 minutes so the food doesn't blow around. I've got a wave maker that is similar and has the feeding mode button, I never use it, I make my fish chase their food :twisted:

The night time mode should slow the pumps down some, reduced rather than no power to simulate slower currents at night, although I've seen this feature on many wave makers, I've never actually read a report where the currents slow down at night on the reef. I personally wouldn't use that feature also.

Contact the Natural wave timer maker. It should have a 1 year warrantee on it. You might be able to get it replaced.

I dont have one of the wavemaster units but this is my guess.

The night time is probably a less agressive switching of current. When the suns not on the reef IMO the currents within the reef would be less. The feeding mod is probably a mode that shuts the PH's down entirely for a period of X timeframe.