What can I put in a goldfish bowl?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

allyn.girl

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi! So I’m fairly new to the whole fish/aquarium world and have a question. Is there any fish/shrimp/water critter that I could keep in a goldfish bowl? I know that goldfish bowls are not ideal for most fish or aquatic animals, but I really want an aquatic pet that is fairly small and easy to care for but also fun to have. Currently I have a 2 gallon planted tank with 3 Nerite snails, but would like to have a goldfish bowl or another smallish tank for another critter. Any suggestions? :)

A small filtered tank wouldn’t take up much more space than a bowl and would be way better for something like a few small shrimp. They’re very active and won’t mind being a bit cramped.

Shrimp wouldn’t mind the small space but are sensitive to water parameters so a bowl with no filter or top would cause issues both with cycling and with evaporation causing swings of tds which could mess with them.

The thing is nothing is going to be easy to care for in a bowl. (Except maybe plants/ moss ball)Water parameters will always be on edge and you’re kind of setting yourself up for failure.

You want easy? Set up a 5-10 gallon with a single betta and a couple nerite snails. Snails will control algea and the bioload will be so small water changes will be minimal compared to needing them every day or two in a bowl.