What kind of shelving to use?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Salukie

Aquarium Advice Freak
I’ve got this old Hagen 20 gallon tank that I got for free but I can’t find anything to put it on.

The cabinet it’s on now will most definitely not support its weight once it’s full. I’d like to just buy a cheap metal aquarium stand but this tank has really stupid dimensions: 24 3/16” x 12 9/16” and the stands I can find won’t fit right and are stupid expensive.

I know lots of aquarists just have their tanks on whatever cheap shelving. I’m not experienced enough to know what will work and what won’t.

Please help me!

Recommend me some sort of shelving to put this on. Something I can buy online.

Thank you!!

attachment.php

Attachments

• 04F0B1CC-A3FC-4268-A15D-400B09407682.jpg
    04F0B1CC-A3FC-4268-A15D-400B09407682.jpg
    251.8 KB · Views: 16
A standard 20 High is 24" x 12" so you can use a metal aquarium stand for that and just lay a piece of 1/2" -3/4" plywood that is cut to the size of your tank on top of the stand and you will be done. (y)
That really is an oddity, is this a custom made tank?

don't use MDF or particle board for the wooden shelf. If they get wet, they fall apart.

If the tank was made by Hagen, it might have been made for the European market and they use metric, not imperial measurements. Maybe measure it in cm.

A standard 20 High is 24" x 12" so you can use a metal aquarium stand for that and just lay a piece of 1/2" -3/4" plywood that is cut to the size of your tank on top of the stand and you will be done. (y)
That really is an oddity, is this a custom made tank?

I don’t think so. It says “Hagen” on the corner. I think it’s just really ancient!

don't use MDF or particle board for the wooden shelf. If they get wet, they fall apart.