What kind of shrimp am I ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brennae

Aquarium Advice Addict
My lfs keeps a very small amount of shrimp and they are all in a small tank. I know I have 2 rcs and then 2 of these white/clear ones. Any ideas? I'm new to keeping shrimp. Sorry about pic quality, I had to use my phone camera.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Attachments

• 1440974912117.jpg
    1440974912117.jpg
    136 KB · Views: 61
  • 1440974928143.jpg
    1440974928143.jpg
    100.1 KB · Views: 62
They don't have the arched back of a ghost shrimp so I don't think there ghosts, but what I do think is that they are snowball shrimp. They are a Neo species that are fairly easy tot keep, just like RCS. They look almost yellow in the picture though. By no means am I a shrimp expert, this is just my guess at what they are :)

Thanks! 2 pieces of info I forgot to mention; the ghosts are kept in a separate community tank not the shrimp tank and the other thing is I have a lot of tannins in the water from a little piece of driftwood and an IAL that I put in a few days ago. The 2 shrimps I'm asking about were white in the bag I brought them home in. I didn't know if they were stressed or low grade RCS or what. I just told them to pick out whatever, all the shrimp are the same price so I don't think I have any hidden gem here. I was just curious so I know how to care for them.

Again thanks, knowing its a neo helps me a lot.

Lucky! $8 for a snowball at my LFS, even the RCS are expensive at $3 a piece. Hope it is what I said and not something else lol! Hope they breed for you, they are cool shrimp.

Lucky! $8 for a snowball at my LFS, even the RCS are expensive at $3 a piece. Hope it is what I said and not something else lol! Hope they breed for you, they are cool shrimp.