Why are the new fish dying?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JBsDad

Aquarium Advice Regular
We just finished a fishless cycle. Friday morning we bought 6 head and tailight tetras for the tank. They have been fine until this morning. I got up and counted them to find one dead and another dying. The rest are no longer swimming in a group.

29 gallon long
Temp: 77°
Ammo: 0ppm
No2: 0ppm
No3: <10ppm
pH: 7.4-7.6

I know the pH is a bit high for this type of fish, but I read in several places that they would be fine in a pH over 7. Is it the pH? The water is crystal clear. I just can't believe JB's fish are dying again after waiting so long for the fishless cycle to finish. I need some help here.

I'm sorry to hear about your fish. I'm still new at this too so I won't be able to give much help. Your water parameters look good. How did you acclimate the new fish to the tank? Also do you have some surface agitation or an air stone? Are they hanging around the top or gasping for air? Have you fed them and how much? Possibly they were overfed and have some swim bladder issues? Could also just be bad stock from where you bought them from. You said one is "dying"...what is it doing (e.g. bobbing on its side, swimming erratically, gasping, fins clamped, etc)? Someone more experienced should be along to help but the extra details might help others pin down the issue.

Sorry to hear about your fish dying .. I hope the rest make it.

How did you test your water? If you used strips (notoriously unreliable) your numbers may not be accurate. API test Master kit? If so then your parameters are fine.