Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-26-2008, 05:22 PM   #301
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
I read over that link on the lumenbrights and it was very interesting. Keep us informed on how those work for you compared to your old reflectors.
__________________

__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 05:28 PM   #302
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I'm about 110% sure that these will be a major improvement over what I have right now.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 04:16 PM   #303
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I've been working on plumbing the new return pump in. I have some of the plumbing done but not all of it. My motivation level is low today so I'm setting it aside to start afresh tomorrow.

My returns
Ziggy953 is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 02:04 PM   #304
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Well I got the return pump plumbed in and all was well for the first 24 hours. The second day with the new pump running I had a frag that got knocked over by a snail so I stuck my hand in the frag tank to fix it and got the shock of a lifetime. The pump was sending some serious voltage through my tank. It is now unhooked and our of my sump. I'm back to running the 3 return pumps I had before. I'm not sure what I'm going to do but I have a nice set of returns plumbed into the 120 and the frag tank. I'm thinking about getting an external of some kind and let that run the system. Right now I'm not going to worry with it. I still have to finish the rock work and get all my fish and corals in place.
Ziggy953 is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 06:06 PM   #305
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishEggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 2,211
aren't you plugged into a gfci circuit?
__________________
~Matt~
If you put off what you can do today until tomorrow it will never get done cause tomorrow never comes. It's always today.
FishEggs is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 04:09 AM   #306
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
The plug that I had that pump plugged into is not hooked to GFCI. Either way there is a problem with the pump and it is now out of the water.

I'm looking for an external pump.
Ziggy953 is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 10:25 AM   #307
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
OUCH again! A new pump is in order and a good external is probably a good idea. A GFCI circuit is a MUST. I have two GFCI extension cord/outles under my tank. Time for another trip to Home Depot
cmor1701d is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 12:56 PM   #308
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
My fish room has a double plug that was there before it became my fish room. It is not a GFCI. The wiring I ran to the fish room is ALL GFCI. The only reason I plugged the pump in where I did is I had no choice. With have of my stuff in a pond I have extra heaters and pumps running. Believe me a new pump it will be. External for sure.
Ziggy953 is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 08:33 PM   #309
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Replacing my outlets was not a consderation either. That's why I got the GFCI extension cords
cmor1701d is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 08:35 PM   #310
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I put in GFCI Breakers for the fish room. The one plug that I used to plug the Mag36 in is on a different breaker.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jake's 150 Gallon Cube Build jcarlilesiu Saltwater Reef Aquaria 126 01-20-2012 05:42 PM
Lighting build in progress (PICS) for 120 FOWLR/Reef(later) InfernoST DIY Projects 35 07-24-2009 08:39 PM
What would you build..... Joker741 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 17 05-30-2009 01:26 AM
My friends 120 gallon build Dekz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 20 04-09-2009 11:24 PM
If you're going to build...build big, right? Maj.Striker Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 18 07-01-2005 07:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.