55 Gallon cichlid breeding setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zooking12

Aquarium Advice Freak
I've been keeping fish for about 4 years now and wanted to try something different. Up until recently the only cichlids other than dwarfs that I've kept were angels. But now I wanted to try something different...something bigger. My setups now are as follows:
55 Gallon:
1 large male jewel (Big Mike)
1 large female jewel (Jewel)
6 smaller jewels
7 zebra/leopard danios

40 Gallon:
1 pair angelfish
1 pair kribs
2 white clouds
1 male platy
2 female platies
1 young krib

10 Gallon:
6 ottos
6 Ghost shrimp (cichlid food project)
1 small krib

Could I put some blue acaras in the 55? I hope to someday keep a pair of acaras and a pair of jewels in there with some dither fish. Thoughts? I'm new to the larger cichlids, and would enjoy some advice. Thank you all :)

P.S. My angels refuse to spawn again. It's been months. I've tried rearranging the tank, moving them, adding dithers and the whole nine yards. Any suggestions on that would be great, too. Thanks again

I've been keeping fish for about 4 years now and wanted to try something different. Up until recently the only cichlids other than dwarfs that I've kept were angels. But now I wanted to try something different...something bigger. My setups now are as follows:
55 Gallon:
1 large male jewel (Big Mike)
1 large female jewel (Jewel)
6 smaller jewels
7 zebra/leopard danios

40 Gallon:
1 pair angelfish
1 pair kribs
2 white clouds
1 male platy
2 female platies
1 young krib

10 Gallon:
6 ottos
6 Ghost shrimp (cichlid food project)
1 small krib

Could I put some blue acaras in the 55? I hope to someday keep a pair of acaras and a pair of jewels in there with some dither fish. Thoughts? I'm new to the larger cichlids, and would enjoy some advice. Thank you all :)