Advice on startup.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

crichton013

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
(ex-post from member introductions)

Hi I'm nosloc and I'm new to this forum. I've been an aquarium enthusiast for years now but I'm really starting to get obsessed now so I figured I'd join a forum. I currently have 4 active tanks, one is planted. Two 55g, a 35g, and a 5g. If anyone happens to be interested in them I can post pictures.

I recently purchased a new 150g (2'x2'x5') that I'm trying to plan out now. I haven't owned an aquarium this large yet so I had a few questions.

I'd like to stock it with
2 Oscar chichilids (one albino)
1 Gar (not sure which kind to get)
6+ Clown loaches
1 Common Pleco (14" I already have him)

These are all fish I'm new to so I'd love to hear some tips from someone who has had personal experience with these fish. Is this too many or too few?

I'm planning on using white sand and river rocks for the basis of the tank, perhaps some floating plants if that won't cause problems, but nothing planted as I know Oscars will uproot them. I don't currently have a filter that's large enough for this tank, though I do plan on using a cannister filter. Any suggestions?

Also can anyone recommend a good place to find a solid test kit for all the basics? I have one but it doesn't test for ammonia, pH, or nitrite...

Thanks everyone!

Fluval Fx6 will be good considering how much you'll have to feed this tank.

No need to test for ammonia, pH, or nitrite really. Just don't put fish in until you have nitrates above 0.

Get the oscars young and last. Clown loaches like lots of water flow.

Don't bother changing pH just keep it stable. It's a big tank. What's more stable than just straight tap and prime?

Thank you very much. Why get the Oscars last? If I get a gar wouldn't I want the gar to be in there latest?