Building a Dream: Suomibetta's Dream 120 gallon tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SuomiBetta

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello! I'm in the process of saving money for my dream aquarium: a 120 gallon freshwater. I am a molecular biology student and rather busy but I am steadily doing research but I would be appreciative of AA's experienced aquarist's adivce. Now about the tank : obviously it'll be 120 gallons, but I'm not sure if I should go long or tall.
I will be centering the tank around the Red-Tailed Shark. (I'm aware they're aggressive and will be taking precautions!)
Substrate wise I'm torn between sand and gravel but I'm going for a stark white for a more surreal feeling and to make the fish visible (so no white fish...I panic if i can't see my fish clearly!)
As for everything else I'm open to suggestions! Thanks in advance! P.S: you guys can call me Morgan if my screen name is a bit of a tounge twister hehe.

Sent from my SM-T210R using Aquarium Advice mobile app

My only thought would be long vs. tall. Simple reason is it's harder to get to the bottom of a taller tank.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium advice.

My only thought would be long vs. tall. Simple reason is it's harder to get to the bottom of a taller tank.

That's a good point. It doesn't help that I'm more or less a Hobbit in stature.

I would have a center island bit with over grown plants but only in the centre with rocks

Sent from my SM-G900F using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I would have a center island bit with over grown plants but only in the centre with rocks

Sent from my SM-G900F using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I like the sound of that...but are there hardy varieties of aquatic plant life? I'm such a terrible plant keeper that I should probably be arrested. And what are some lighting options for a long and lidded tank?