Cichlid Colony

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

User

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi I am new to cichlids and may want to setup a cichlid tank and have a few questions.

I want to make a Lake Victoria tank I think.

How many are in a colony of cichlids? How many in a 40gal tank?

Would I be able to keep a larger pleco with them?

How would the tank set up be? Would they be fine in an upper 7.0 pH tank?

Thanks everyone. if you can point me in the right direction that too is apprechiated!:thanks:

Ok here is what I have so far:

Decor:
-Large rocks
-semi clear water

pH is alkaline 7.2-8.6
Temp is 70-81 degrees
lots of rainfall in the middle so ro water?

Fish like groups: How many in a group??
Pleco safe: unknown

Ok here is what I have so far:
What size is your tank?
Decor:
-Large rocks
-semi clear water??????

pH is alkaline 7.2-8.6
You should test your pH with a reliable kit...that is a big range...Victorias like pH near 8.0 and swings in pH are deadly
Temp is 70-81 degrees
You need to be more precise...around 78 and constant
lots of rainfall in the middle so ro water?????

Fish like groups: How many in a group??
Some get fairly large so you have to research each individual species of fish
Pleco safe: unknown
Depending on what type of Pleco...common get huge so it depends on the tank you have

Look up at my first post? its a 40 gal

all the information is from the website you gave me, I am just putting down what was on it that was useful.

The tank is empty.

I dont have any fish/pleco yet. The fish I am looking at are 5" max

Well then, set up your tank, do a fishless cycle, check you ph levels, set your temperatures, research your fish and you are good to go...