Filtration for a nano?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WindSwept

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have no experience in salt water at all, but I've been researching nano reefs since I stumbled upon a a picture this morning. I think they're fascinating, and I love the look of the bright corals! My lfs recently opened up a saltwater section with all the essentials C:

So I think the best size for me would be a 20 gallon, but I'm a bit confused when it comes to filtration for nano reefs? I snooped around and saw some people use Aquaclear filters, but other than brand I pretty much no nothing!

Any information you'd like to share on filtration or nano-reefing in general would be a great help!

I would get the biggest tank possible. Smaller tanks are harder to keep and you can't have as many fish:( a 55 gallon is a great starter tank. If you can't get that big of a tank look into the biocube 29. They rock! The biocube comes with everything you need exept a heater, sand, and rock. For filtration IMO your best bet is 1-2 lbs of live rock per gallon with a sump refugium.
(the biocube has a built in sump)

Here's a good sump if you decide to do a normal glass tank.
http://www.aqueonproducts.com/products/proflex-sump.htm

A sump is basically a place where you can put a protein skimmer(a must have on a reef) heater, and a refugium. A refugium is part of the sump where you can grow macro algae and place live rock rubble.
If you can't do the sump the you can look into modifying an aquaclear 110 into a refugium. So basically you want:
Biological filtration: live rock
Chemical: chemi pure or purigen(optional)
Mechanical: filter socks or a sponge
And natural: chaeto and macro algae.

:)

I agree, get a 55 or larger tank if you can. They are much more forgiving on beginner SW aquarists, plus you can have tons more different kinds of fish.