How many electric yellow/yellow labs in a 50 gallong long?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sobersteve323

Aquarium Advice Freak
How many electric yellow/yellow labs can fit in a species only tank that's 50 gallons (48"x12.5"x19.5")?

Would they allow for any type of bottom feeder to coexist in the tank with them?

Edit: Filter is a Fluval 405.

I'm no expert, but labs are more of a relaxed cichlid, you could probably put 8-10 in there and still add a school of Tiger Barbs or Rainbows. Pleco's a great bottom feeder for them too. As long as you have great filtration.

I'm no expert, but labs are more of a relaxed cichlid, you could probably put 8-10 in there and still add a school of Tiger Barbs or Rainbows. Pleco's a great bottom feeder for them too. As long as you have great filtration.

Thanks, I wasn't sure if a pleco would be ok. Also, I have a Fluval 405 on there. I'll add that to the original post!

agreed - id put more in there tho to reduce aggression, but that means loads more water changes and better filtration.
the ratios are 1m/3f, so the 2 males 6 (min) females is ideal.
pretty much any type, dont go for anything with very fancy fins. plecos are fine, anything fantail-ey or extravagent may attract the fishes attention and get chewed. but thats totally dependant on the individual fish!
the filter is fine, but u need to keep on top of pwc, especially with a bottom feeder. they poop alot :)

Yeah i'd recommend getting more than you plan on keeping, and weeding out extra males / troublemakers. If you get them young, sometimes you can't sex them very well.

agreed - id put more in there tho to reduce aggression, but that means loads more water changes and better filtration.