Malawi cichlid tank suggestions????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jesselav1233

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm Stocking a Malawi cichlid tank it's 55 gallons I bought 6 little "assorted Malawi cichlids" and 2 little "African Malawi cichlids" this is how they were labeled at the local fish store not sure of their breed. This is my first time doing a cichlid of this types tank any and all suggestions or general wisdom please send to this thread Im not opposed to rehoming anything to optimize the general well being of these guys so please be free with what types u think would be best for the set up I have thanks.

All of your little guys are mbuna (it means rock dweller) cichlids. Like their name suggests they dwell in rocks. They like to have a lot of places to hide. Texas holey rock is good for them. There was also an article on here for a DIY faux rock wall (i'm making one next weekend). If there aren't enough places to hide they will become even more aggressive then they already are.

You want to stick with malawi mbuna to avoid any issues. If you want a pleco to keep the glass clean or a bottom feeder to pick up missed food now is the time to get it. Also don't waste money on a pretty pleco. I did that one was eaten and the othersh not so pretty anymore (he only has one eye and his fins were pretty beat up for awhile).

As for other mbuna to add here are some all of the genus that i know of (spelling should be correct or close enough for google to know what youre talking about)
abactochromis
cynotilopia
gephyrochormis
idiotropheus
labeotropheus
melanochromis
metraclima
petrotilopia
pseudotropheus
tropheps

Each genus listed above has several species under it so if you search them on google images different fish will come up. most pet stores carry what is popular which gets boring.