New tank question...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sproutyrouty

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a couple of questions about my set up as I'm a newbie to all this...

I have a 30litre tank no live plants a heater a filter a light and some decorations, I have also put dechlorinator in the tank.

In the cycle I'm currently at 0.25ppm ammonia, 4.0ppm nitrite, 5.0ppm nitrate.

Ive had the tank set up for about 2 weeks now originally it was cloudy which i presume what bacterial bloom that has now disappeared and I now have the readings above.

What would you say the next step for me is?

You seem pretty educated about cycling for a newbie! I would wait another week or so, maybe add some live plants while you wait (if you want to), then get a few animals. An important rule is don't add all your critters at once. If you haven't already decided on a species, for that size tank I would recommend African dwarf frogs, cherry shrimp, maybe five zebra danios, snails, or about six guppies.

I've done a lot of forum reading to be honest this is my first ever tropical tank

I gave a sample to the pet store about a week ago and they said the water was fine and gave me lampeye and endlers guppies... Big mistake none survived the night so I want to be precautious as I don't want the same to happen again.

I was thinking Cardinal tetras to start

Just not sure when is best time

You should add fish when the ammonia, nitrates, and nitrites are all at the right level and have been for about a week.

Wait. That's all you can do. Dose ammonia to 2 daily as long as it's converting to 0 in 24 hours. Nitrites take longer but will drop eventually. Then you will be ready. Patience is key, as annoying as the process is.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice