New User - Needs advise

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Louise Lee

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi! I'm new at this so hope I've started this discussion off right. I have a 60 gallon tank with two parrots; two Oscars, and two plecos. I've been wrestling with getting a blue jack Dempsey, and have researched him as a tankmate, and have seen so many different comments....some favorable and some not. Well, today I finally gave in and ordered one. So, if anyone has any suggestions as to how this will work out, I'd sure appreciate your comments. I have some time to cancel the order if most of you feel negative about this. Thanks.

Last edited:
Hi! I'm new at this so hope I've started this discussion off right. I have a 60 gallon tank with two parrots; two Oscars, and two plecos. I've been wrestling with getting a blue jack Dempsey, and have researched him as a tankmate, and have seen so many different comments....some favorable and some not. Well, today I finally gave in and ordered one. So, if anyone has any suggestions as to how this will work out, I'd sure appreciate your comments. I have some time to cancel the order if most of you feel negative about this. Thanks.

well considering your already overstocked by about 4-5 fish i wouldnt get him. youd just be hurting the fish.

Way over stocked

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I'd start by rehoming the plecos. Common plecos grow large and are massive waste producers, and really don't belong in a tank under 100 gallons. Next, I'd chose between Oscar or blood parrots. 1 Oscar alone in a 60 is about the limit as far as oscars go. A pair would be best suited in a 125 gallon. The blood parrots could both be together in a 60, but again, just the 2 BP's and nothing else.