Newbie: Questions Fishless Nitrogen Cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AquaMan92

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello Everyone,

I am new to owning an aquarium, and I need some direction hopefully you guys can give me some pointers

So i have a 10 gallon tank, with just gravel in at 79 degrees.
I used water tetra tap water safe conditioner and tetra safe start plus for the bacteria.

I am on Day 9 of the cycle the API kit reads:
Ammonia between 4.0-8.0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0-5.0 dark yellow almost orange color, there is not that much Nitrate maybe like .50-1
Ph-7.6
High ph between 7.4-8.0 more on the 8.0 range

My question is am I on the right track?
How much longer should I wait?
What should I look for? or Track?

I am aiming to get my nitrites to 0 ammonia to 0 and Nitrates between 20-40ppm. At that point what level should my PH level be? I am going to put in tropical fish that don't grow larger than 4 inches
Thank You:fish1:

You're doing great! Don't worry about your pH. Nitrates will get very high, but you'll do water changes to get them down before you add stock.

Your future fish thank you!

Nirbhao

Thank You very much! I wasn't sure where I was at in the process. I will keep the community posted.

Your ammonia levels seem to be spiking so those should drop off soon. After that the nitrites will spike but that is just how to the cycle goes. Your ph is all good. Be aware however if your KH is low, you're ph could drop quickly. It drops slowly naturally. If that becomes the case and you're fish need a higher ph, add a buffer such as crushed coral which will raise the KH. Also I read to wait 24 hours before adding start up bacteria after you add water conditioner. I'm not sure if it's true, but if you set up a tank again I would wait so the water conditioner doesn't kill the bacteria.