Sea Urchin questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Arthropoddi

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I'm just starting out with saltwater, and to be honest I've been thinking about switching completely over to saltwater, but I want to give it a go at least once before I do that of course, so I've been designing my new tank in my head, lol, and I'm really decided on having sea urchins in my clean up crew; I'm really in love with them :love: lol

The thing is, I know they sting. I'm not afraid of being stung, I'm not afraid of it hurting or anything, I get stung on a weekly basis by other pets that I have, lol, but I'm afraid of the venom. Every website I go to, looking for which ones are more venomous, all they say is only ten sea urchins are fatal, but they don't say which ones? I mean, I don't imagine they'd offer the deadly ones in the hobby, but has anyone ever had a particularly bad experience with a sea urchin sting?

And how you would transfer it from it's..bag or whatever it's in when it came home to the tank without getting stung?

And I read they might go after hermit crabs, is that true? And if it's a problem, how do you secure your rock so they don't knock them over, which I also read is sometimes a problem because they like to crawl through them?

Sorry I'm totally new at this..

Thanks! :thanks:

When talking about urchins ?
I haven't read anything about one that can " sting " or being venomous.
I will say they consume a lot of algae , coralline algae
They will knock over rock piled in your reef if they are not fastened well .
When you buy one it will come in a fish bag , and just grab it and put it in lol
I have have a few .
I'll attach a few pictures of my urchins .
Possibly could you be thinking of anemones ?