Shy guppy :(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RichAFix

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to this, so bear with me. Have a 5 gallon tank that has 3 (small 1.5") fish. A red glofish, a starfire wag platy and a male blue guppy. All on the fish store fishguy's advice. Our guppy isn't very social. He isn't social at all, this is only a 5 gallon tank with live plants and a little tiki hut thingy. We see him about 5 minutes a day. I don't know how he hides so well in such a small tank. Should I be concerned? The 3 don't seem to have any conflict with each other. I am a bit concerned about adding more fish to this small tank but is it possible he is just a racist and wants to hang out with other guppies? Do I try to add 1/2 more little guppies to give him a little posse to hang out with? Am I overthinking this? Are guppies just shy? P.S. Should I worry that even at feeding time he doesn't come out.

Yes, you should worry. No, you shouldn't add anything. It sounds like he may be stressed. What are your water parameters? Do you test? How did you cycle? How long has the tank been set up? What is your water change routine? Sorry for all the questions, just trying to get enough info to help properly.

Welcome to AA btw! :)