Evans 20 Gallon Nano Reef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Evansimp

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hello everyone, I am new to the fish keeping hobby! Right now I have a 40 gallon freshwater tank, but I've really been wanting to get a nano reef. I have an extra 10 gallon tank that I started with. I got It at petsmart as a kit so everything is all stock. I was wondering if I would eventually be able to convert that into a nano reef if I upgrade filtration and lighting etc. Or if buying a 8 gallon nano reef kit would be easier and cheaper.

I have been reading about nano reefs for a while and I know starting out small is tougher, but I don't neglect tanks and water changes and all! So what do you guys think? Is it possible?

I want a basic tank to! Soft corals and maybe a clown fish or two! Thank you guys!

It's def possible! Sounds like your about to do the same thing I've been doing all summer long. I started out with a basic 10 gallon stock bundle and all I did was upgrade the light and add a power head. Your stock filter will be fine. Just go with plenty of live rock!! Live rock means everything in saltwater. I can also recommend a light for you if your interested. Here's a few pics from my 10 gallon reef.

Attachments

• image-943471473.jpg
    image-943471473.jpg
    160 KB · Views: 816
  • image-3150656915.jpg
    image-3150656915.jpg
    207.3 KB · Views: 716
  • image-4821266.jpg
    image-4821266.jpg
    146 KB · Views: 642
  • image-2598628269.jpg
    image-2598628269.jpg
    170.2 KB · Views: 694
Huffers said: