Inconsistent advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Edmonton Eskimo

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm just wondering if anyone is concerned about some of the advice that is given on this site. I am not in any way saying that I am an expert or anything like that. I am continuosly researching and asking as many questions as I can. What I have learned is that nothing in saltwater is a definate or a constant. There are so many factors and circumstances that make this a great hobby but people on this site are stating "definites" like "you shouldn't keep angels" or "you have to wait a certain amount of time to add this" every tank is different and every aquarist is different. Just because one person couldn't succeed with a certain animal doesn't mean they should tell others they shouldn't do it. I am a begginer with saltwater and I have become nervous reading some of these posts and I think irresponsible posts could scare people away from this wonderful hobby. It is excellent to have a site like this to share our experiences. I realize that there are some pretty damn smart people on this site but even they don't know for sure all the time. I know for myself I will share an experience good or bad but I will not try to tell someone else that they should or shouldn't keep a species based on my experience. Don't get me wrong I enjoy this site a lot and I have learned things here but I wish people would think a little before they post.

Edmonton Eskimo said:
I think irresponsible posts could scare people away from this wonderful hobby.