Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-07-2013, 01:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

6g Jbj Nano Cube Scape opinions needed.

So I had this tank as a saltwater for a couple years when I was in college. When I graduated in May of this year, I decided to sell everything and convert it to a freshwater shrimp tank.

It is similar to a bio cube so it has a built in wet dry filter in the back. The only problem with that is that the shrimp can easily get sucked through the intake and I didn't want to deal with wire mesh so I decided to cover the back wall with a 3d background.

I bought it online since it was at a very good price ($22 shipped) and it probably would have costed more to make it myself. It was precut for a 10 gallon so I cut it to size.

I had to empty the already cycled tank in order to properly install the background. I had a seeded sponge filter run for back couple weeks until the cycle was fully completed.

I put the sponge filter in a one gallon and will dump fish flakes in their until I refill the tank. My water is extremely hard here so I plan on using RO water with a remineralizer.

Today, I went out and got some manzanita from my LFS for a pretty good price. What you will see is how much I got for $5. It isn't sandblasted but I'm glad it wasn't because it matches the background and sand very well. I boiled the branches several times to avoid any tannin leaching.

Now, here's where I need opinions. Do any of you think I should add some stones or more manzanita? Should I reposition the branches? The only flora I plan on putting in there for now is softball sized portion of java moss I have in my other tanks.

I'm currently dumping off all my RCS stock in order to fill this tank up with Blue Velvets.