common pleco?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

butterfly_koi

Aquarium Advice Addict
So my pleco is getting rehomed Friday because I know it will be too big for my 29 and my lfs finally has room to take him.
My question is this, is he really a common? he looks different than any common I've ever seen especially with the red in his fins. I thought there was something wrong with him when he started developing the red but that was 5-6 months ago.

View attachment 101412

View attachment 101414

He doest look like one to me and I have 3. I would get more options though.

Fishie said:
He doest look like one to me and I have 3. I would get more options though.

I didn't think he looked like a common but I'm not the greatest when it comes to plecos. But I thought that commons were darker but I could be wrong

I'm a complete newbie but happened to be in my LFS yesterday and they had orange spot common plecos, I think that's what they were and they look kind of similar?..

Edit: actually, after googling that I think I'm wrong haha sorry!

Jmurray17 said:
I'm a complete newbie but happened to be in my LFS yesterday and they had orange spot common plecos, I think that's what they were and they look kind of similar?..

Edit: actually, after googling that I think I'm wrong haha sorry!

Its ok you don't have to be sorry at least you tried :) I would love to figure out what he is because I don't want to get rid of him if he isn't going to get that big, but in the same sense I don't want to keep him and risk him getting too big for the tank