Help with stocking goptions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oilpays

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Help with stocking options

So I am looking at a 36 gallon bowfront.

I am very new to keeping fish but I've been reading about fishless cycling and I understand the nitrogen cycle.

As far as stocking goes, I need fish that will be able to survive without me doing a PWC for 10 days at a time.

I would like to have a school(6-8) of some brightly colored fish (prob some sort of tetra), I like angelfish and all other types of cichlids, bala sharks.

I would like to be able to have a school swimming around and have a few larger fish as well...also any recomendations for some bottom dwellers to round it all out

I would like to have some live plants in there but im not sure i should get into that as this is my first tank

Any advice on what would work here would be appreciated.

Thanks, this site has been an awesome wealth of knowledge for me so far.

JIM

Last edited:
I've had angelfish and like them a lot. But, they get very large and would be cramped in a 36 gallon. I tried keeping some harlequin rasboras with them and they nipped the angelfish's fins, but they were active and schooled well. Currently, I'm considering some Glofish (genetically modified zebra danios that glow really brightly when exposed to UV light in red, orange, or green) for a new tank. Danios are supposedly hardy too, but I haven't had them before. I've had neons before, but they're not very active and are kind of boring, but have good color. They hid 90% of the time.