is the paradise fish a gourami?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

amitnarain

Aquarium Advice Freak
is the paradise fish a gourami? my lfs sells it as the paradise gourami.
is it anyhow related to the gouramis?

btw is it a labyrinth fish?

It is a gourami. They share many, if not all of the same characteristics. And yes, it has a labyrinth organ. To the best of my knowledge, your lfs is right. :)

but most people don't realize that the gouramis and betta fish are of the same family because they are both labyrinth fish. Also the paradise blue gouramis is the most closly related and they can fight almost as feircly as male bettas so you should only keep one. I know i got two once on accident... Also have you noticed that female bettas and male paradise blue gouramis look very similar?

I'm no expert, but I disagree. See, gourami are of the genus Trichogaster
While the paradise fish is of the genus Macropodus

Yes, they have similar body shapes, and yes they are both labryinth fish, but that's it. When LFS's sell the Paradise Gourami, it's a misnomer IMO. They may not be that different, but the paradise fish is not a true gourami.

Ashley is also correct that paradise fish can be quite aggressive to each other, and similar looking fish, though its mainly the males that behave this way. I was able to keep 2 males and 1 female in my 75 gallon. Eventually one male died, so now the pair I have gets along quite well.

Lesser known fact: paradise fish were the first tropical fish to be kept in the home aquarium, back in victorian times.

Malkore, is it true that the paradise fish are related to the betta? Thats just what i found out from reading about them online.. and i just got a female betta and she looks a lot like a paradise fish except for the top fin is different.